Cannot get App to connect with Bridge

I am new to the Nuki products. I just received my Smart Lock 2.0 and Bridge yesterday. Contrairy to youtube movies showing that the installation only requires minutes, I have now spend hours trying to get things work. Unfortunately I have not succeeded yet. Problems started with the batteries deliverd with the Smart Lock. The are totally dead. I could only get the lock working by replacing the batteries with new ones.
The second problem is the installation of the bridge. I have tried everything and followed the (conflicting) instructions many times.
When I unplug the Bridge and replug it, it starts blinking immediately. But my Nuki App (after searching for a while) informs me that, in order to get the bridge in maintenance mode, I need to unplug the Bridge, and keep the button pressed while inserting the bridge into the socket and keep it pressed until the light on the bridge turns on. After pressing Continue on the app, it says that it is trying to connect , but the again it tells me that it cannot find a bridge in maintenance mode.

I have done this20+ times, and start feeling like an idiot, expecting an other outcomeā€¦

I have read thing about updating firmware but have no clue what firmware is installed nor how to upgrade. The app does not show any ā€˜Upgrade Firmwareā€™ options.

I have even installed the Nuki Bridge App. This does seem to work, I see a Server icon and an Android Bridge icon and a Smart Lock icon, all three with a green dot. But I have no clue what this does for me.

Returning to the Nuki app, selecting the Nuki Bridge to be ā€˜maintanedā€™, selecting ā€˜Maintain Bridgeā€™ brings me back to the problem as described above. It cannot find a bridge in maintenance mode. Meanwhile the bridge in the socket is flashing continuosly (is that maintenance mode of normal operation mode?).

My phone is a Samsung Galaxy S8 (not sure if this is relevant).