Nuki and IOT integrations

Hi Nuki community,

I am an IoT enthusiast and a full-time software engineer, and in my spare time, I love to play with IoT and integration. I have been using Nuki products for over 3 years, and I can say that I am pleased about it. After using Nukio Smart Lock, a couple of months ago I bought Nuki Opener. It is a great device but…

Backstory:
I needed some solution for opening a door in front of my apartment building. Nuki Opener was an excellent solution for that. I made some investigations and in conclusion, I decided to buy it. But unfortunately, I did not manage to set it up. I tried and tried, but whit no luck. And instead of that, I switched to the Switchbot implementation.

Current implementation:
Because I did not manage to install Nukio Opener, instead of that I switched to a Switchbot, but I did not want to give up on the Nuki ecosystem (app, user management, …).
Because of that I did the following:
I installed a Switchbot to my intercom, and I connected that Switchbot via Bluetooth dongle to my local server. After that I configured Nuki Bridge to send a callback event to my server after someone click opens Nuki Opener via the app (or via the button on Opener).

By doing that I successfully integrated Switchbot with the Nuki ecosystem and I achieved my goal to control building front door with Nuki. But, as you can think, it was really price integration (Nuki opener is not that cheap device).

PS. I cannot say that I am happy with the events that Nuki Opener is producing. In the end, I end up subscribing to an ONLINE event type. I put a debouncer of 10 seconds and subscribe to an Online event and that is not a great solution, but it is working. It would be much better if I can subscribe to the OPENING event. But I am not getting that event from the app, I am getting that event only when I use the physical button. So for now, open event it is.

Proposal for improvement: