MQTT Automatic reconnect, force publishing

Hi,

first of all I am new to MQTT.

I integrated the new MQTT API (v1.4) into the Smart Home Software IP-Symcon (IPS) with success.

So IPS acts as a MQTT Server and subscribes to all topics the Smart Lock (SL) is publishing.
On the first provisioning and connection to IPS the SL publishes all topics and IPS retains them.
This will be also done if the SL restarts (plug battery off, plugin in battery again).
From there on the SL only publishes changes to IPS. I think that is the idea of MQTT.
So far, so good.

Now it cloud happen that the IPS MQTT Server is down for any reason.
So the SL can’t publish his topics/changes.
Also in the app the connection is marked as disconnected.

So is there an automatic reconnect from the SL to IPS?

Can I force the SL to publish all topics again without restarting the SL?

Looking forward for any hint.

Regards
Uli

1 Like

The Smart Lock makes a reconnect trial once per hour or when its own WIFI connectivity drops. All topics will be republished upon reconnect. i.e. just wait and everything should come back.

1 Like

Hi Jürgen,

thank you for sharing this information:

I already could see the reconnect in my test environment.
Publishing all topics again I have to check.

Uli

Scenario:

WLAN is all the time active and available.

MQTT Server switched to offline.
Smart Lock recognizes that the MQTT Server connection is offline.
MQTT Server switched on after several minutes.
Smart Look did a reconnect and publishes topics.

So, I can see the reconnect.

These topics were published again:

Home Assistant Config:

homeassistant/lock/nuki_12ABCD34_lock/config
homeassistant/binary_sensor/nuki_12ABCD34_lock/config
homeassistant/sensor/nuki_12ABCD34_battery_percent/config
homeassistant/binary_sensor/nuki_12ABCD34_lock_battery_critical/config
homeassistant/binary_sensor/nuki_12ABCD34_battery_charging/config
homeassistant/binary_sensor/nuki_12ABCD34_door_sensor/config